Refined white sugar, as we know, should be consumed in moderation due to its high levels of sucrose, which is obtainted from either sugar cane or sugar beets that are processed and bleached to remove all trace of "impurities" (including molasses).
So if white sugar is off the table then what can you use to sweeten tea, coffee, your morning oatmeal or baked treats?
Here are 10 natural sugar substitutes to consider:
AMBER AGAVE NECTAR
Known in Mexico as agua miel (literally "honey water"), agave nectar is fat free and contains slightly less carbohydrates than sugar. Use it the same way you would maple syrup.
Erythritol is a natural substance present in fruit, fungus and fermented foods. This calorie-free sweetener that can be used to substitute sugar but should be avoided if you are allergic to corn.
This type of sugar is naturally found in fruit although it is also present in honey and vegetables. It is ideal for baking but should be avoided by those allergic to corn.
LIGHT AGAVE NECTAR
A slightly dense syrup with a flavor similar to that of honey. It is a great natural sugar substitute and can be used in recipes that call for honey or maple syrup.
This is a type of sugar alcohol derived from corn. It is sweeter than sugar but has less calories. In Europe, it's commonly used to make gum and candy.
This honey-like syrup has a delicate taste, is gluten-free and delicious used in desserts. Of course, it is not suitable for people allergic to rice.
Its unique flavor lends itself well to fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals. Of course, it can also be used to give a sweeten baked goods.
This natural sugar substitute is not suitable for vegans because it is extracted from whey. It can be used in cooking and is a sweetener commonly found in milk for children.
Brown sugar is a healthier alternative to white sugar. In fact, it is less refined, as it is not completely depleted of molasses, which contains minerals such as potassium and vitamins.
A simple sugar that gives energy to the body immediately. However, it should be avoided if you are allergic to corn.