You'd probably be surprised to learn that gluten - that infamous wheat protein - is found in a wide number of foods you may consume. Condiments, frozen foods, hot dogs, candy and even spices can be hidden sources of gluten. The one thing all these foods have in common? They are all processed.
While you won't find gluten listed on the label it is present in ingredients such as modified corn starch, natural flavorings and hydrolized vegetable protein (HVP). The lesson here? Be sure to read food labels if you really want to lead a gluten-free life.
Here's a look at some hidden sources of gluten:
Gluten may be present in bouillon cubes that contain "natural flavorings" or monosodium glutamate (MSG). Read the ingredient list and look for labels that indicate the product is "gluten-free."
Be aware that gluten can often be disguised as a stabilizer or thickener in condiments such as ketchup, mayonnaise and soy sauce.
Are you a fan of sushi? Make sure the restaurant isn't using imitation crab meat, which is made from a derivative of wheat and contains gluten.
VEGETABLE COOKING SPRAYS
Opt for natural sources of fat like butter, coconut oil and grape seed oil when greasing baking pans to avoid gluten. Here are some great gluten-free recipes you can try.
Italian football legends don't come much bigger than Alessandro Del Piero. Fine Dining Lovers spoke to the former Juventus star and World Cup winner about his career, his love of food, and running his N10 restaurant in Los Angeles during the pandemic.
The long-awaited, rescheduled UEFA Euro2020 football championships are upon us, and to whet your appetite, we have selected our starting XI of the best restaurants in the world owned by footballers. See who made our first-team.