Gluten-free confectioner’s custard is not only possible if you know a few handy cooking tips, but also easy to make. To prepare your own gluten-free custard you just have to replace the flour of the traditional recipe with cornflour, but do take care to buy the right product: in fact, not all the cornflour available in supermarkets is really gluten-free.
If you intend to make a gluten-free custard that is perfectly safe for celiac sufferers, check the wording on the packet carefully before buying it. The label must clearly state ‘without gluten’ or ‘gluten free’, or must show the symbol of a crossed-out wheat sheaf.
Once you have purchased your gluten-free cornflour, you can make a delicious confectioner’s custard by following the traditional recipe because the quantities and method are exactly the same:
For 600 ml (2 1/2 cup) of milk, use 5 or 6 egg yolks, 150 grams (5 oz) of sugar, a vanilla pod and 50 grams (3 tbsp) of cornflour. Beat the yolks, sugar and cornflour while still cold, add the milk gradually and continue to stir, and then add the vanilla. At this point, put the mixture into a saucepan and place it on a low heat, mixing all the time until it thickens. Take off the heat immediately.
A second season of 'Stanley Tucci: Searching for Italy' is in the pipeline, but where will the affable American actor and food lover go next? Nobody knows. But Fine Dining Lovers has some ideas in this tongue-in-cheek series guide. Take a look.
Ramadan is the holy month of Islam, observed by millions of Muslims around the world. People refrain from eating and drinking during daylight hours, but when it's time to break the fast there are plenty of dishes to enjoy. Here are 20 of the tastiest to try.
As England gets ready to reopen its restaurants on 12 April for outdoor dining after the lockdowns, restaurateurs and bar owners respond to the new legislation with some exciting pop-ups and creative al fresco dining solutions. Find out more.