Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

The 2011 James Beard Foundation Awards

The 2011 James Beard Foundation Awards
30 December, 2018

The 2011 James Beard Foundation Awards

Last nights James Beard Awards were a huge success with winners and nominees attending from all over America. Best new restaurant went to the ABC Kitchen in New York, Richard Melman picked up the outstanding restaurateur award and the outstanding chef award was given to José Andrés for his work at Minibar in Washington D.C.

The rising star award went to Gabriel Rucker who works at Le Pigeon, the award for outstanding service went to Per Se in New York and outstanding restaurant design was given to three designers, Joshua Aidlin, Roslyn Cole, and David Darling for their work at Bar Agricole in San Francisco.

There was also awards presented for the James Beard Foundation Media Awards which encompass all journalists and media related broadcasts relating to food. The JBF Media Awards were announced on the 6th of May. Publication of the year went to Edible Communities Publications and in the book awards Reni Redzepi picked up an award for his book, Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine.

The cookbook hall of fame was awarded to, On Food and Cooking: The Science & Lore of the Kitchen by Harold McGee and cookbook of the year went to, Oaxaca al Gusto: An Infinite Gastronomy by Diana Kennedy. The M.F.K. Fisher distinguished writing award was given to LA Weekly writer Jonathan Gold, for his piece “A Movable Beast”.  To see all the winner from the night click here.

The James Beard Foundation Awards shine a spotlight on the best and brightest talents in the food and beverage industry throughout America. The awards are a culinary event intended to give deserved recognition to chefs, restaurants, authors, food journalists, even restaurant designers and architects.

The awards were established by the JBF in 1990 through the merging of two pre existing ceremonies: The R.T French Tastemaker Cookbook Awards and the Cook’s Magazine and Restaurant Business’s Who's Who of Food and Beverage in America. It now takes place once a year and is celebrated at the Avery Fisher Hall in New York.

With design, graphics, architecture, chefs, restaurants, broadcast-media, cook book authors and even more. The awards have been a resounding success since their conception in 1990 and are now deemed to be one of the highest accolades in American cooking.

For a full list of this years winners  click here.
For a full list of last years winners click here.
And to learn more about The JBF Awards click here.

event name

The 2011 James Beard Foundation Awards

30 December, 2018
Check out other events suggested by
Fine Dining Lovers!