News & Trends

Prosecco Hills Awarded UNESCO World Heritage Status

By on

Facebook Twitter ShareAddThis
Prosecco Hills Awarded UNESCO World Heritage Status
Photo 123RF

The Prosecco di Conegliano and Valdobbiadene hills have been declared UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Thirty kilometers of green and undulating landscape, dotted with vineyards on steep slopes, which produce Prosecco Superiore Docg: bubbles made famous all over the globe, which testify to the constant work of man and their heroic interaction with the territory, in an area that includes 15 municipalities between Vittorio Veneto and Valdobbiadene, located between 150 and 350 meters above sea level. 

The announcement arrived yesterday, on 7 July, from Baku, Azerbaijaan, where the Permanent World Heritage Committee recognized the exceptional universal value of the Veneto landscape, inscribing it on the World Heritage List. The hilly area in the province of Treviso represents the 55th Unesco Italian site, which is added to the 1,092 locations around the world already on the list - of which 47% are in Europe and North America, 23% in Asia and in the Pacific, 12% in Latin America and the Caribbean, 8.7% in Africa and 7.6% in Arab countries.  


The first version of Prosecco dates back to 1868, by Antonio Carpenè, founder of Carpenè Malvolti, who had produced it with grapes of the native vine Glera. "It would certainly be proud of the work carried out in 150 years by local winemakers - said Etile Carpenè - and how they were able to change the socio-economic fortunes of their families by making these lands, which in 1853 had only one vineyard, a national pride. more significant is the fact that this recognition reaches the 95th anniversary of the first labeling of the term Prosecco ".

The title of Unesco World Heritage on the Prosecco hills comes after ten years of work, with a unanimous vote (after the appointment had not passed by only two votes last year). A new goal for the territory, which arrives exactly on the fiftieth anniversary of the DOC, established in 1969, and on the tenth birthday of the recognition of the DOCG, which took place in 2009.

Image: Pixabay

Other wine regions on the World Heritage list include the Italian island of Pantelleria, Piedmont region in Northern Italy, Burgundy and Champagne in France, Mosel in Germany, Tokaj in Hungary, the Wachau in Austria, the Alto Duoro in Portugal, Switzerland’s vineyard terraces in Lavaux, and Mexico’s blue agave fields and ancient tequila distilleries at the foothills of the Tequila Volcano. 

Fan of bubbles? Discover all the numbers behind Prosecco!


Register or login to Leave a Comment.