News & Trends

'Science and Cooking' Lecture Series Returning To Harvard This Fall

By on

Facebook Twitter ShareAddThis
'Science and Cooking' Lecture Series Returning To Harvard This Fall

The Science and Cooking Lecture Series is returning to Harvard University this fall. This year's lineup includes stellar chefs like Ferran Adrià, Joan Roca, Daniel Humm and Christina Tosi

The lectures are a collaboration between professors, world-class chefs and food professionals who meet to discuss topics relating to food and science. They were inspired by the Harvard College General Education course Science and Cooking: From Haute Cuisine to the Science of Soft Matter.  

As in previous years, the lectures are free to attend and work on a first come first served basis, except Ferran Adria's lecture which is a ticketed event due to an high demand. The series will kick off Monday, September 8th and will be held every Monday until December 1st.

For more information, swing by the event website. Here's the full lineup for the Science and Cooking 2014 Lecture Series

Monday, September 8, 2014
“Science and Cooking: A Look at the Last Twenty Years”
Dave Arnold, Booker & Dax, and host of “Cooking Issues”
Harold McGee, writer, Curious Cook

Monday, September 15, 2014
“The Science of Sugar”
Joanne Chang, Flour Bakery, author of Flour and Flour Too

Monday, September 22, 2014
“Al Dente: When Plastic Meets Elastic”
Mark Ladner, Del Posto

Monday, September 29, 2014 
Bill Yosses, former White House Pastry Chef, author of The Perfect Finish
Steve Howell, project scientist, NASA Kepler & K2 missions

Monday, October 6, 2014
“Heat Transfer and Chocolate”
Enric Rovira, master chocolatier

Monday, October 13, 2014
“Metamorphosis of Taste”
Dominique Crenn, Atelier Crenn

Monday, October 20, 2014
“Decoding the Creative Process” 
Ferran Adrià, elBulli Foundation NOTE: TICKETED EVENT

Monday, October 27, 2014
“The History of Culinary Thickeners” 
Martin Breslin, Harvard University Dining Services

Monday, November 3, 2014
Emulsions and Foams (Title TBA) 
Christina Tosi, Milk Bar

Monday, November 10, 2014
“Where is the Acid?”
Daniel Humm, Eleven Madison Park

Monday, November 17, 2014
“Fermentation, an Ancient Trend”
Jody Adams, Rialto

Monday, December 1, 2014
“El Celler de Can Roca: Roots, Innovation, and Creation”
Joan Roca, El Celler de Can Roca

Register or login to Leave a Comment.