News & Trends

JRE: One Godfather and Award Nominees

By on

Facebook Twitter ShareAddThis
JRE: One Godfather and Award Nominees

The Jeunes Restaurateurs (JRE), the restaurant association that is sponsored by S.Pellegrino and Acqua Panna, has this week named its new "godfather," for JRE France while also releasing a list of Heritage Award nominees.

The Godfather of JRE

A delighted chef Yannick Alléno was awarded the title of "godfather" by JRE France. The French chef said he wanted to “challenge and highlight the French genius in haute cuisine, and pass down what [he] received from generous gifted chefs.” 

2017 is turning into quite the year for French chef Yannick Alléno, still fresh from scooping a third Michelin star at his restaurant Le 1947 in the French Alps, to sit alongside the three he already holds at Pavillon Ledoyen, Paris,

Award Nominees


The nominees for the JRE Heritage Award 2017 were also announced. The JRE  have been committed to keeping culinary tradition alive for almost 45 years during which time, "experienced chefs and maîtres de maison have helped the association gather a veritable pool of talent, a jewel to be treasured and developed."

Here are the nominees for the Heritage Award:

AUSTRIA - Jürgen Csencsits, Gasthaus Csencsits
BELGIUM - Paul Hendrickx, Petit Aneth
CROATIA - Teo Fernetich, Restaurant San Rocco
FRANCE - Benjamin Delpierre, Restaurant La Liégeoise
GERMANY - Daniel Fehrembacher, Restaurant Adler
ITALY - Filippo Saporito, La Leggenda dei Frati
NETHERLANDS - Laurent Smallegange, Spetters
SLOVENIA - Ksenija Mahorčič, Gostilna Mahorčič
SPAIN - Elena Arzak, Arzak
SWITZERLAND - Arno Abächerli, Auberge de la Croix Blanche
UNITED KINGDOM / IRELAND - Alfred Prasad, Prasad

JRE Innovation Award 2017 Nominees

The JRE INNOVATION AWARD 2017 nominees have also been announced in a category designed to recognise innovation as the key to progress and “uphold the best of our heritage to ensure its safe passage into the future.” Presented in cooperation with Nespresso: "this Innovation Award is presented to the chef that has shown audacity in their pursuit of both excellence and creativity."

The nominees for the Innovation Award 2017 are as follows:

AUSTRIA - Andreas Döllerer, Geniesserrestaurant Döllerer's
BELGIUM - Jason Spinoy, l’Histoire 32
CROATIA - Danijel Đekić, Monte
FRANCE - Guillaume Veyssière, Restaurant La Ruelle
ITALY - Enrico Bartolini, Devero
NETHERLANDS - Xiao Han, HanTing Cuisine
POLAND - Adriad Klonowski, Restauracja Metamorfoza
SLOVENIA - Tomaž Kavčič, Gostilna Pri Lojzetu
SPAIN - Adolfo, Javier & Verónica Muñoz, Adolfo
SWITZERLAND - Philipp Felber, Pony
UNITED KINGDOM / IRELAND - Robert Krawczyk, Barbazon

The association, which brings together young restaurateurs and chefs who want to "share their talent and passion for food with likeminded people” is now active in 16 countries, with 350 affiliated restaurants and over 180 Michelin stars between affiliated chefs. They aim to build “solidarity between chefs” and “transmit gastronomy values," they say.


Follow Fine Dining Lovers on Facebook


Register or login to Leave a Comment.