Food & Drinks

The 8 USDA Beef Grades Explained

By FDL on

Facebook Twitter ShareAddThis
The 8 USDA Beef Grades Explained

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has certain grades to help consumers differentiate between different quality beef but not many people know the difference between the nine different grades.

This simple infographic from Rastelli Direct sets about explaining the different USDA grades for beef and exactly what each one means.

From the highest USDA Prime to the cutter and canner grades lower down the scale, the infographic quickly explains exactly what a USDA grade on meat is telling you. There are eight grades listed by the USDA but the infographic shows nine with an split added between choice and what they call higher choice. 

It’s a useful reference and one that will quickly teach you something that many people don’t know.



  • pentester12345 said on


Register or login to Leave a Comment.