ShareFacebook Twitter AddThis
Gluten-free confectioner’s custard is not only possible if you know a few handy cooking tips, but also easy to make. To prepare your own gluten-free custard you just have to replace the flour of the traditional recipe with cornflour, but do take care to buy the right product: in fact, not all the cornflour available in supermarkets is really gluten-free.
If you intend to make a gluten-free custard that is perfectly safe for celiac sufferers, check the wording on the packet carefully before buying it. The label must clearly state ‘without gluten’ or ‘gluten free’, or must show the symbol of a crossed-out wheat sheaf.
Once you have purchased your gluten-free cornflour, you can make a delicious confectioner’s custard by following the traditional recipe because the quantities and method are exactly the same:
For 600 ml (2 1/2 cup) of milk, use 5 or 6 egg yolks, 150 grams (5 oz) of sugar, a vanilla pod and 50 grams (3 tbsp) of cornflour. Beat the yolks, sugar and cornflour while still cold, add the milk gradually and continue to stir, and then add the vanilla. At this point, put the mixture into a saucepan and place it on a low heat, mixing all the time until it thickens. Take off the heat immediately.
Are you curious to discover some more ideas for cooking without gluten? Here's more gluten-free tips from Fine Dining Lovers.