Blog

Food & Drinks

19 Foods Where Gluten Hides

By on

Share
Facebook Twitter ShareAddThis
19 Foods Where Gluten Hides

HIDDEN SOURCES OF GLUTEN

You'd probably be surprised to learn that gluten - that infamous wheat protein - is found in a wide number of foods you may consume. Condiments, frozen foods, hot dogs, candy and even spices can be hidden sources of gluten. The one thing all these foods have in common? They are all processed.

While you won't find gluten listed on the label it is present in ingredients such as modified corn starch, natural flavorings and hydrolized vegetable protein  (HVP). The lesson here? Be sure to read food labels if you really want to lead a gluten-free life.

Here's a look at some hidden sources of gluten:

BOUILLON CUBES

Gluten may be present in bouillon cubes that contain "natural flavorings" or monosodium glutamate (MSG). Read the ingredient list and look for labels that indicate the product is "gluten-free."  

KETCHUP

Be aware that gluten can often be disguised as a stabilizer or thickener in condiments such as ketchup, mayonnaise and soy sauce.

IMITATION SEAFOOD

Are you a fan of sushi? Make sure the restaurant isn't using imitation crab meat, which is made from a derivative of wheat and contains gluten. 

VEGETABLE COOKING SPRAYS

Opt for natural sources of fat like butter, coconut oil and grape seed oil when greasing baking pans to avoid gluten. Here are some great gluten-free recipes you can try.

OTHER SURPRISING FOODS WITH GLUTEN

““Christmas

via Dr. Axe

Follow Fine Dining Lovers On Facebook

Tags
Comments
Register or login to Leave a Comment.